14 April the 2020 IPAF winner will be announced online

International Prize for Arabic Fiction Winner Announcement | #ArabicFiction2020

Read translated excerpts from the six shortlist novels click here

The winner of the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2020 will be announced from 12 noon (BST) / 3pm (GST) on Tuesday 14 April 2020.
The announcement will be made digitally via a special video announcement hosted on the IPAF website. Please tune in to watch the announcement on the IPAF YouTube Channel here.

This will include speeches and comments from the IPAF team who run the prize, this year’s Chair of Judges Muhsin Al-Musawi, and the winning author.

Follow the Prize via the IPAF website and social media channels as follows:
Facebook @InternationalPrizeforArabicFiction
Instagram @Arabicfictionprize
Twitter @Arabic_Fiction

As previously announced, this year there will not be an awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi.

The 2020 shortlist, listed in alphabetical order by author surname, is as follows:



Country of Origin


Abdelouahab Aissaoui

The Spartan Court


Dar Mim

Khalil Alrez

The Russian Quarter


Difaf Publishing

Jabbour Douaihy

The King of India


Dar Al Saqi

Said Khatibi

Firewood of Sarajevo



Alia Mamdouh

The Tank



Youssef Ziedan

Fardeqan – the Detention of the Great Sheikh


Dar al-Shorouk

The International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) is the most prestigious and important literary prize in the Arab world. It is given annually to a novel in Arabic which the judges consider to be the best of that year. Its aim is to reward excellence in contemporary Arabic creative writing and to encourage the readership of high quality Arabic literature internationally through the translation and publication of winning and shortlisted novels in other languages.

The 2019 winner was Hoda Barakat’s The Night Mail.

The Prize is sponsored by the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi (DCT) and run with the support, as its mentor, of the Booker Prize Foundation in London.

Published Date - 31/03/2020