The Sheikh Zayed Book Award announces the winners for 2017-2018

Sheikh Zayed Book Award Twelfth Session Winners

Sheikh Zayed Book Award logo

The winners of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, 12th Edition (2017-2018), Abu Dhabi

Winners of the 2017-18 edition of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, 30 April 2018

Photocall of winners of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award in Abu Dhabi, 30 April 2018,

The ‘Literature’ Award goes to Syrian novelist Khalil Sweileh  for his Novel Ikhtibar al-nadam (Remorse Test) published by Nofal- Hachette Antoine, Beirut (2017), while Emirati author Hessa Al Muhairi was named winner of ‘Children’s Literature’ Award for her story al-dinoraf (the Dinoraf) published by Al Hudhud Publishing and Distribution, UAE (2017).

In the ‘Young Author’ category, the Egyptian writer Ahmad Al Qarmalawi is awarded the title for his novel Amtar Sayfiyyah (Summer Rains), published by Maktabat al-Dar al-Arabiyah lil-Kitab, Cairo (2017).

The ‘Translation’ Award  goes to Néji Elounelli from Tunisia for his Arabic translation from of the work of German author Theodor W. Adorno, Natharayya ‘Astiteeqyya (Ästhetische Theorie), published by Al-Jamal Publications, Beirut 2017

The ‘Literary and Art Criticism’ Award goes to Moroccan academic Mohammad Mishbal for his work Fi Balaghat Al Hajjaj: nahwa balagha hajjajiyyah litahleel al khitab (The Rhetoric of Al Hajjaj: Towards a rhetoric inspired by Al Hajjaj in analyzing discourse), published by Kunouz Al Ma’refa Publishers, Amman (2017).

The ‘Arab Culture in Other Languages’ Award goes to German researcher Dag Nikolaus Hasse for his work Success and Suppression: Arabic Sciences and Philosophy in the Renaissance, published by Harvard Press 2017.

The ‘Publishing and Technology’ Award goes to Dar Al-Tanweer (Beirut/Cairo/ Tunisia), presented to the publisher Hassan Yaghe.

Personality of the Year was announced as the Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris. Director Jack Lang received the award.

Marking the announcement, Dr. Ali Bin Tamim, the Secretary General of Sheikh Zayed Book Award said:

“The nominations went through a rigorous assessment towards selecting the best of the entire body of works received this year, followed by a series of evaluations lasting for 3 months by qualified judging panels, as well as reviews by the Scientific Committee, with the final sign-off by the Award’s Board of Trustees naming the winning titles of the 12th session.”

He added: “Throughout the past twelve years, since its inception, the Award has won a reputation of recognizing and celebrating the best text in Arabic literary production, with a deeply rooted transparency that is engraved on a regional and an international level.”

HE Saif Saeed Ghobash, Director General of the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi, congratulated the winners on their achievement, stressing that their works deserve the recognition of the Award, and added:

“As we mark the Year of Zayed, this is fitting appreciation of the memory of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan; crowning this outstanding group of writers, intellectuals, publishers and young talent as winners of an award in his name, and echoing his vision of fostering the sciences to enrich the Arab cultural, literary and social life.”


For all details of the Sheikh Zayed Award go to:


Published Date - 28/04/2018