IPAF 2014 Long List

Longlist Announced for

International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2014


The International Prize for Arabic Fiction has today (Tuesday 7 January) announced the longlist of 16 novels in contention for the 2014 prize. Those selected were chosen from 156 entries from 18 countries, all published within the last 12 months.

The 2014 longlisted authors come from 9 different countries, with the highest numbers from Morocco, Iraq and Egypt. A Kuwaiti writer makes the list for the second time in 2014, following Saud Alsanousi’s success in 2013.

Five of the authors have been previously nominated for the prize; Amir Tag Elsir was shortlisted in 2011 (The Grub Hunter), Inaam Kachachi (The American Granddaughter) in 2009 and Khaled Khalifa (In Praise of Hatred) in 2008, whilst Ibrahim Nasrallah has been shortlisted (2009 – Time of White Horses) and longlisted (2013 - Lanterns of the King of Galilee). Waciny Laredj has been longlisted twice, in 2011 and 2013 (The Andalucian House and Lolita’s Fingers respectively). Many of these writers have subsequently had their work published in English, as well as other languages.

Ahmed Saadawi also has connections to the prize, having taken part in the IPAF nadwa in 2012, under the tutelage of Inaam Kachachi and Amir Tag Elsir.

The full 2014 longlist, with author names in alphabetical order, is as follows:





Clouds Over Alexandria

Ibrahim Abdelmeguid


Dar al-Shorouq

Love Stories on al-Asha Street

Badryah El-Bishr


Dar al-Saqi

The Bearer of
the Purple Rose

Antoine Douaihy


Arab Scientific Publishers


Amir Tag Elsir


Arab Scientific Publishers

A Rare Blue
Bird that Flies with Me

Youssef Fadel


Dar al-Adab

The Season of
Pike Fishing

Ismail Ghazali


Dar al-Ain

The Phoenix
and the Faithful Friend

Ismail Fahd Ismail


Arab Scientific Publishers




Dar al-Jadid

No Knives in
this City's Kitchens

Khaled Khalifa


Dar al-Ain

God’s Land of

Ashraf al-Khamaisi



Ashes of the
East: The Wolf who Grew Up in the Wilderness

Waciny Laredj



The Journeys of 'Abdi, known as Son of Hamriya

Abdelrahim Lahbibi


Africa East

The Blue

Ahmed Mourad


Dar al-Shorouq

The Edge of
the Abyss

Ibrahim Nasrallah

Jordanian -Palestinian

Arab Scientific Publishers

The Sad Night
of Ali Baba

Abdel Khaliq al-Rikabi


The Arab Institute for Research and Publishing

Frankenstein in Baghdad

Ahmed Saadawi




The books were selected by a panel of five judges, whose names will be announced in Amman, Jordan, on Monday 10 February 2014, at the same time as the 2014 shortlist.

The 2014 Chair of Judges comments on the longlist: ‘The longlisted titles are extremely varied, their diverse themes and styles reflecting the unquestionable richness of Arabic literature. Dominant themes include the socio-political problems currently experienced in many parts of the Arab world, especially the violence and displacement inflicted upon religious and ethnic minorities. Techniques and voices within the books range from the traditional narration characterised by an omniscient author to innovative techniques in style and narration, all of which breathes fresh life into the Arabic novel.’

This is the seventh year of the Prize, which is recognised as the leading prize for literary fiction in the Arab world.

Professor Yasir Suleiman, Chair of the Board of Trustees, comments: ‘Seven years on, IPAF has gone from strength to strength. This year’s longlist contains a set of excellent works of fiction that testify to the quality of Arabic literature. The judges have toiled long and hard to produce this list which includes female and male novelists, young and more established writers and works that hail from different parts of the Arab world. It is enormously gratifying to witness the role IPAF has played in promoting Arabic fiction among Arab readers and international audiences through translation.’

Delivering on its aim to increase the international reach of Arabic fiction, the Prize has guaranteed English translations for all of its winners: Bahaa Taher (2008), Youssef Ziedan (2009), Abdo Khal (2010), joint winners Mohammed Achaari and Raja Alem (2011), Rabee Jaber (2012) and Saud Alsanousi (2013). Taher’s Sunset Oasis was translated into English by Sceptre (an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton) in 2009 and has gone on to be translated into at least eight languages worldwide. Ziedan’s Azazeel was published in the UK by Atlantic Books in April 2012 and English translations of Abdo Khal and Mohammed Achaari’s winning novels are due in Spring 2014, through Bloomsbury Qatar Foundation Publishing. 2013 also saw the publication of Spanish translations of Baha Taher's Sunset Oasis (El Oasis) and Rabee Jaber's The Druze of Belgrade (Los Drusos de Belgrado) by Madrid-based publisher Turner.

The winner of the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2014 will be announced at an awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday 29 April, the eve of the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair. The six shortlisted finalists will receive $10,000, with a further $50,000 going to the winner.

The International Prize for Arabic Fiction is an annual literary prize for prose fiction in Arabic. It is run with the support of the Booker Prize Foundation in London and funded by the TCA Abu Dhabi in the UAE.

For further information about the long list titles and authors, please go to

Published Date - 07/01/2014