Sheikh Zayed Book Award 2015 Longlist


Sheikh Zayed Book Award Logo

Sheikh Zayed Book Award 2015 longlist

announced for

'Arabic Culture in other Languages' 

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award has today (Monday 12 January) announced the longlist of entries contesting its 'Arabic Culture in Other Languages' category, which seeks to recognise works addressing Arab civilisation and culture, including literature, the humanities, fine arts and history, all produced in languages other than Arabic.

Ten works have been selected following the conclusion of the Award Reading Panel's deliberations. The longlist includes works in English, Spanish and Japanese and cover subjects from Arab history and literature to scholarly research on the art of Arabic writing.

The longlist, with authors' names ordered alphabetically, is as follows:






Ancient Religions, Modern Politics: The Islamic Case in Comparative Perspective

Michael Cook

EnglishPrinceton (2014)

Reading Darwin in Arabic, 1860-1950

Marwa Elshakry


The University of Chicago Press (2013)

The (European) Other in Medieval Arabic Literature and Culture, Ninth-Twelfth Century AD

Nizar F. Hermes


Palgrave MacMillian (2012)

Arabian-naito to Nihon-jin (The Arabian Night and Japanese)

Sugita Hideaki


Iwanami Shoten (2012)

Al Jahiz: In   Praise of Books

James Montgomery


Edinburgh University Press (2013)

The Cosmic Script: Sacred Geometry and   the Science of Arabic Penmanship

Ahmed Moustafa and Stefan Sperl


Inner Traditions (2014)

The Arab Nahda: The Making of   the Intellectual and Humanist Movement

Abdulrazzak Patel


Edinburgh University Press (2013)

Teorías sobre el amor en la cultura árabe medieval (Theories of Love in Arabic Culture in the Middle Ages)

Emilio Tornero


Siruela (2014)

 Los traductores de árabe del Estado español. Del Protectorado a nuestros días (Arabic Translators in Spain) 

Arias Torres and Feria Garcia


Bellaterra (2012)

Leer La Alhambra (Reading the Alhambra)

Jose Miguel Puerta Vilchez


Edición Patronato de la Alhambra y Generalife (2011)

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award was established in 2007 in memory of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the late ruler of Abu Dhabi and President of the United Arab Emirates. The awards, which comprise of seven other categories, are presented annually to outstanding writers, literary figures and intellectuals, and publishers whose works have enriched Arab cultural and literary life.

selection of longlisted books

Published Date - 12/01/2015